The 4Cs of a Diamond

The 4Cs standard of diamond grading was created by the Gemological Institute of America and it has become a universal language for assessing a diamond based on its cut, colour, clarity and carat. These parameters define the quality and value of any diamond.


Diamond Carat

hari krishna diamond 4Cs
  • Diamond Carat refers to the standard unit of weight for diamonds and other gemstones. A metric carat is categorized as 200 milligrams. At Hari Krishna Exports Pvt. Ltd., Diamond Carat is measured by using a highly precise electronic scale.Two diamonds of the same carat weight can vary in cost when the other factors such as color, clarity, and cut of the diamond considered.All other Cs being equal, as the carat size of the diamond increases, so does its cost because the more significant the diamond, the rarer and desirable it becomes.
hari krishna diamond 4Cs
hari krishna diamond 4Cs


Diamond Color

hari krishna diamond 4Cs
  • Diamond Color refers to a diamond's lack of color, i.e., grading the whiteness of a diamond. A structurally perfect and chemically pure diamond has no color, like a drop of pure water, and hence, a higher value.
  • D color grade is the highest possible whiteness the diamond has, while Z is the lowest. Generally, the diamond reveals its original color after the cut.
  • All diamonds at Hari Krishna Exports Pvt. Ltd. are color graded in a lab. As a polished diamond concentrates its actual color around the culet, coloring is viewed at HK through the pavilion (ignoring girdle and crown) white table down in a white coloring card.


Diamond Cut

Diamond Cut
  • Diamonds are precious for their ability to transmit light and sparkle so intensely and cut plays a critical role in it. Diamond-Cut refers to a diamond's proportions, symmetry, and polish that deliver the magnificent return of light only possible in a diamond.
  • The beauty of a diamond depends on the cut as compared to any other factor. And of all the 4Cs of Diamond Quality, it is the most complex and technically difficult to analyze.
  • At Hari Krishna Exports Pvt. Ltd., the cut scale contains four grades ranging from Excellent to Fair. Excellent, Very Good, Good, and Fair.
Diamond Cut
hari krishna diamond 4Cs


Diamond Clarity

hari krishna diamond 4Cs
  • Diamond Clarity refers to internal features (inclusions) and surface characteristics (blemishes) within or on a diamond when viewed under 10x magnification under standard viewing conditions. At Hari Krishna Exports Pvt. Ltd., clarity scale includes eleven clarity grades ranging from FL to I3 in compliance with the International standard. We also have parcel goods ranging from IF to I7.
  • FL/IF (Flawless/Internally Flawless): FL - No internal or external imperfections. IF - No internal flaws. But it is extremely rare.
  • VVS1/VVS2 (Very Very Slightly Included): Very difficult to see imperfections under 10x magnification. It is considered to be an excellent quality diamond.
  • VS1/VS2 (Very Slightly Included): Imperfections are not typically visible to the unaided eye. It is less expensive than VVS1/VVS2 grades.
  • SI1/SI2 (Slightly Included): Imperfections are visible under 10x magnification and may be visible with the unaided eye. It has a good diamond value.
  • I1-I3 (Included): This grade of diamonds will have minor inclusions that may be visible to the unaided eye. Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance. I3 diamonds have large and extremely easy to see inclusions that typically impact the brilliance of the diamond, as well as having inclusions that are often likely to threaten the structure of the diamond.
By clicking “Accept All”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.